#### **PHYSICS**

1. **About the course:-** M.Sc. in Physics with following courses: Classical Mechanics (100 Marks), Mathematical Methods in Physics (100 Marks), Quantum Mechanics (200 Marks), Solid State Physics(100 Marks), Basic Electronics(100 Marks), Statistical Mechanics(100 Marks), Nuclear and Particle Physics(100 Marks), Advanced Quantum Mechanics(100 Marks), Classical Electrodynamics (100 Marks), Advanced Condensed Matter Physics (*Special Paper*, **200 Marks**), Computational Methods in Physics Practical (100 Marks), Modern Physics Practical (100 Marks), Electronics Practical (100 Marks), Solid state Physics Practical (100 Marks), Dissertation or Project (200 Marks).

## 2. Establishment of the Department: 2013

#### 3. Vision:

- To develop to become a center of excellence in Physics education and research,
- To act as a springboard for students to realize their highest dreams as scientists and as citizens of the world
- to empower the students with a global outlook harmoniously with personal and social aspirations.

### 4. **Mission:** - The Department strives to

- Inculcate a love for physics in students' minds by exposing them to the ceaseless process of exploring the hidden laws of nature behind her mysteries.
- Expose the students to the advances in physics and science in different areas of research around the world.
- Make students aware of the prospects that physics offers to grow in life.

#### 6. Faculty Member Details:-



Name: Prof. Lambodar Prasad Singh

**Designation:** Former Professor, Utkal

University, Bhubaneswar **Qualification: Ph.D.** 

**Specialization:** Particle Physics &

Cosmology

**Phone No:** +91-9937624505

E-mail Id: lambodar\_uu@yahoo.co.in



Name: Prof. Naresh Chandra Mishra **Designation:** Former Professor, Utkal

University, Bhubaneswar **Qualification: Ph.D.** 

**Specialization:** Condensed Matter Physics &

Nanophysics

**Phone No:** +91-9437889778

E-mail Id: nareshcmishra@gmail.com

Name: Prof. Gourang Chandra Mohanty Designation: Retd. Professor of Physics, Former Principal(SAG) Khallikote College, Berhampur

Qualification: Ph.D.

**Specialization:** Condensed Matter Physics

**Phone No:** +91-9437273107

E-mail

Id: gmohanty\_2008@rediffmail.com



Name: Prof. Prafulla Kumar Mishra

**Designation:** Retd. Reader in Physics, Principal, SCS Autonomous College, Puri

Qualification: Ph.D.

**Specialization:** Condensed Matter Physics

**Phone No:** +91-9338217698

E-mail Id: pragyanm59@gmail.com



Name: Dr. Subrat Kumar Kar

**Designation:** Lecturer **Qualification:** Ph.D.

**Specialization:** Condensed Matter Physics

Phone No: +91-9853267345 E-mail Id: skarnit@gmail.com



Name: Mr. Bibhuti Bhusan Sahoo

**Designation:** Lecturer

**Qualification: Ph.D.** (Submitted)

**Specialization:** Condensed Matter Physics

**Phone No:** +91-8908491264

E-mail Id: sahoobibhuti93@gmail.com



Name: Mr. Keshb Chandra Moharana,

**Designation:** Lab Instructor

**Qualification:** B.Sc.

**Phone No:** +91-9853155704

E-mail

Id: keshabmaharana234@gmail.com

## **8.Distinguished Alumni:-**



Name: SACHIDANANDA BARIK

**Academic Session:- 2014-16** 

Organization: Raman Research Institute,

Bangaluru

Designation: Ph.D. Scholar



**Academic Session:- 2015-17** 

**Organization:** I.O.P., Bhubaneswar

Designation: Ph.D. Scholar



Name: LAXMIPRIYA SAHOO Academic Session:- 2016-18

**Organization:** I.I.T., Bhubaneswar

Designation: Ph.D. Scholar





Name: SURYA MOHANTY Academic Session: 2016-18

**Organization:** I.I.S.E.R, Thiruanantapuram

**Designation:** Ph.D. Scholar

Name: RASHMI RANJAN ROUTARAY

**Academic Session:-2018-20** 

**Organization:** Institute of Condensed Matter and Nanosciences (IMCN) – MODL clusterPolytechnic

School of Leuven (EPL)

Chemin des Etoiles, 8 box L7.03.01 – 1348, Louvain-

la-Neuve

**Designation:** Ph.D. Scholar

# 9.Seminar/Internship/Study Tour Conducted by Department:-

Date	Topics	Members present
06-02-2023	Study tour to Institute of Physics,	P.G. Physics Students
	Bhubaneswar	(2021 and 2022 Admn.
		Batch) and Faculties
16-09-2023	Outreach Programme for Science Students  Jointly Organized by Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar & Udayanath  Autonomous College of Science & Technology, Adaspur, Cuttack	Students and Staffs
16-09-2023	Future Sources of Energy	Students and Staffs
16-09-2023	Nanoscience & Nanotechnology	Students and Staffs
16-09-2023	Fun Science demonstration	Students and Staffs